“A day in the life”…of a bike commuter


It was supposed to be just another day in the life of this avid bike commuter. I thought I had it all planned out so well. Yesterday morning, I drove my Ford C-Max with my folding bike packed inside to a car detailing shop to have the interior cleaned all nice and neat. After dropping my car off, I pedaled my Citizen folding bike to work about two miles or so to the east. All went like clockwork…until I got a call from the car detailer about 9:00 a.m. saying their cleaning technician had called in sick and they would not be able to clean the interior of my car until Thursday. Okay…

Source: beatlesbooks.com

Source: beatlesbooks.com

Because the weather forecast called for rain showers during the afternoon, I decided to bicycle back to the car detailer during my morning break and pick up the car. When I arrived, I discovered much to my chagrin and embarrassment that I had dropped off my car at the wrong car detailer. Duh! In my defense, these two car detailing shops are situated directly side-by-side in the same auto care mall. I know that’s a weak argument, but I am standing by it!

Silly me had dropped off my car at the wrong shop that morning – not the place where I had made an appointment, which is who had the sick employee. The shop where I dropped off the car was busy cleaning away when I arrived to retrieve my car at 10:15 a.m. So, I sheepishly bicycled back to the office along the same route I had just trekked twice already, all the time wondering if I need a long, relaxing, and restful vacation on a beach in Tahiti or an extended stay at Happy Acres.

This entry was posted in Active transportation, Alternative transportation, Bicycle Commuting, Bicycling, Bike Commuting, Biking, Commuting, culture, Cycling, Folding Bikes, fun, planning, satire, spatial design, sustainability, transportation, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

