Do you get a bike helmet forehead spot?


Source: cdc.gov

Source: cdc.gov

Okay…I have been wondering this for years. What the heck causes many bicycle riders to get an oblong-shaped reddish spot on their forehead from their bike helmet. It’s not like there is something on the inside of the helmet that is shaped in that manner, nor do I even wear my helmet tight enough where a spot should be caused by pressure. I have had this happen with several types of helmets too, so it is not necessarily a brand-centered phenomenon. Could it be as simple as I am not wearing my helmet correctly?

So, what the heck causes this spot to form nearly every time I ride my bike? It disappears within 5-10 minutes of taking off my helmet. I know this question is of Earth-shattering importance, but any thoughts, hypotheses, and educated guesses are welcome. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Active transportation, Bicycling, bike sharing, fitness, product design, sports, transportation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you get a bike helmet forehead spot?

  1. Tim Potter says:

    I’m guessing that’s caused by the part of your forhead being the point of contact with your helmet. In other words ‘pointy-headed syndrome’ 🙂

    Sent from Tim Potter’s iPhone

    Like

  2. Rick Brown says:

    You were not supposed to figure out that I am really a Conehead from Remulak…I mean France. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jon Spangler says:

    If it disappears in 5-10 minutes and happens every time you wear it, I’d guess it has to do with the composition of your skin and the underlying soft tissues. If it doesn’t hurt, I would not worry about it. If you want an explanation, my guess is that you should contact a dermatologist–just to satisfy your curiosity, not because something is wrong…

    Like

Leave a Reply

